Call 1-800-GANNON-U
Skip to main content

Graduate Assistantships

  • Graduate students can apply what they have learned and gain practical experience as graduate assistants in a number of departments throughout the University.  Please contact the department directly to learn about assistantship availabilities, deadlines and other information.

    Graduate Assistantship Facts

    • Most graduate assistants receive a stipend and/or percentage of tuition waiver.
    • All positions are for one year, renewable for a second year by mutual agreement.
    • Graduate assistants in Residence Life receive room and board.

    Departments with Assistantships

    ATHLETIC TRAINING

    Dr. Becky Mokris
    (814) 871-7441 | mokris001@gannon.edu
    Students must pursue a degree in athletic training and be enrolled in the Master of Athletic Training program. The application deadline is March 15th and assistantships are awarded prior to the start of the program.

    CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING

    Dr. Becky Willow
    (814) 871-7721 | willow004@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

    COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE

    Dr. Stephen Frezza
    (814) 871-7563 | frezza001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Computer and Information Science.

    Download an application for this position.

    CRIMINALISTICS

    Dr.  Ted Yeshion
    (814) 871-7326 | yeshion001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Criminalistics. Graduate assistantship responsibilities will be completed on campus, to provide students ample opportunities to work directly with the Criminalistics faculty. The application deadline is April 1st and assistantships will be awarded prior to the start of the academic year.

    ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND ENGINEERING

    Dr. Michelle Homan
    (814) 871-5691 | homan001@gannon.edu 
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Environmental Health and Engineering.

    Download an application for this position.

    ELECTRICAL AND COMPUTER ENGINEERING

    Dr. Lin Zhao
    (814)871-5854 | zhao001@gannon.edu
    Faculty in the department are conducting research in the fields of electrical and electronics engineering, embedded software engineering, and cyber engineering. Research topics include but not limited to electrical power system & smart grid, autonomous systems, NASA mission related projects, Internet-of-Things (IoT), and Artificial Intelligence (AI). When applying, please indicate which area you are interested in.

    Download an application for this position.

    MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

    Dr. David Gee
    (814) 871-7512 | gee004@gannon.edu
    Faculty in the department are conducting research in both fields of mechanical engineering.  When applying, please indicate whether you are interested in mechanical systems or thermal systems.

    Download an application for this position.

    ORGANIZATIONAL LEARNING AND LEADERSHIP

    Dr. William Hallock
    (814) 871-7136 | hallock002@gannon.edu 

    PHYSICAL THERAPY (ERIE Campus)

    Dr. Kristine Legters
    (814) 871-5641 | legters001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. Positions include Athletic Trainers and  Anatomy Laboratory Assistants. Two Program Development positions are available to second-year DPT students only.
    Assistantship Deadline: December 1

    PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

    Dr. Mengzhong Zhang
    (814) 871-7840 | zhang038@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Public Administration.

    RESIDENCE LIFE

    Denise Golden
    (814) 871-7564 | golden007@gannon.edu
    If interested in being a graduate assistant for the Residence Life team, inquire about potential openings February/March of the spring semester. Preference is given to students who have previous residence life experience. Number of available positions vary per year. 

    SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

    Dr. Celene Kalivoda
    (814) 871-7359 | kalivoda007@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration

    Download an application for this position.

    SPORT AND EXERCISE SCIENCE

    Dr. Kory Stauffer
    (814) 871-7515 | stauffer005@gannon.edu
    Students must pursue a  degree in Sport & Exercise Science and be enrolled in the Master of Sport & Exercise Science program. The application deadline is April 2nd and assistantships are awarded prior to the start of the program.