Assistantships

  • Gannon University has a number of graduate assistantships available to full-time students. Availability and application procedures vary by department. This brochure provides the names of departments that offer assistantships, as well as a contact person and phone number. Please contact the department directly for more information, applicable deadlines and upcoming openings.

    Graduate Assistantship Facts

    • Most graduate students receive a stipend and/or percentage of tuition waiver.
    • All positions are for one year, renewable for a second year by mutual agreement.
    • Graduate assistants in Residence Life receive room and board.
    • The positions in the English Department are teaching assistantships and require teaching of College Composition and working in the Writing Center.
    •  The positions in the School of Education are teaching positions in the Diocese of Erie, Catholic Schools, and require a valid PA teaching certificate. 

    Departments with Assistantships

    ATHLETIC TRAINING

    Dr. Becky Mokris
    (814) 871-7441 | mokris001@gannon.edu
    Student must be pursuing a degree in Master of Athletic Training.

    CLINICAL MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING

    Dr. Timothy Coppock
    (814) 871-5793 | coppock001@gannon.edu
    Preference is given to students pursuing a degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling.

    COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE

    Dr. Mei-Huei Tang
    (814) 871-5393 | tang002@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Computer and Information Science.

    OFFICE OF THE DEAN OF HUMANITIES, EDUCATION AND SOCIAL SCIENCE

    Bobbi Jo Fye
    (814) 871-7549 | fye001@gannon.edu

    EDUCATION

    Janice M. Whiteman
    (814) 871-7497 | whiteman002@gannon.edu
    Student must be pursuing a degree in Master of Reading or Master of Curriculum and Instruction.

    ENGLISH

    Dr. Laura Rutland
    (814) 871-7532 | rutland001@gannon.edu
    Students must have a Bachelor’s degree in English or at least 24 undergraduate credits in English and be pursuing a degree in English.

    ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH AND ENGINEERING

    Dr. Harry Diz
    (814) 871-7633 | diz001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Environmental Health and Engineering.

    Health Communication

    Dr. Brent C. Sleasman
    (814) 871-5536 | sleasman001@gannon.edu 
    Students must be pursuing a Master of Arts degree in Health Communication.  Deadline to apply is March 15.

    OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

    Dr. David LeVan
    (814) 871-7730 | levan005@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Occupational Therapy.

    ORGANIZATIONAL LEARNING AND LEADERSHIP

    Dr. David Barker
    (814) 871-7700 | barker002@gannon.edu

    PHYSICAL THERAPY

    Dr. Kristine Legters
    (814) 871-5641 | legters001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Physical Therapy. Deadline to apply is January 15. Positions include Athletic Trainers, Anatomy Laboratory Assistants and Motion Analysis Laboratory Assistants. Two Program Development positions are available to second-year students only.

    RESIDENCE LIFE

    Denise Golden
    (814) 871-7564 | golden007@gannon.edu
    Preference is given to students who have previous resident life experience, but it is not required.

    SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

    Margie Unick
    (814) 871-7567 | unick001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Business Administration.

    SMALL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT CENTER (SBDC)

    Nikia Erhunmwunsee
    (814) 871-7452 | erhunmwu001@gannon.edu

    SPORT & EXERCISE SCIENCE

    Dr. Jason Willow
    (814) 871-7788 | willow001@gannon.edu
    Students must be pursuing a degree in Master of Science in Sport and Exercise Science.