Biological Honor Society Chosen for National Award

Posted: May 4, 2012

Gannon University’s campus chapter of a national biological honor society recently was honored.

Gannon is the 2010-11 recipient of Beta Beta Beta’s Bertholf Award, given by the society to the most outstanding campus chapter. Gannon now is a six-time recipient of the award.

The Bertholf Award recognizes the chapter that most closely meets Beta Beta Beta’s (Tri Beta) criteria for excellence, including:

  • Member activity in conducting and publishing research.
  • Participation in district and national conventions and other related events.
  • Chapter programming and activities, to include community service performed by the chapter and its student members.

Gannon’s chapter, Theta Omega,has morethan 50 student members, said Monica Scarsella, a Gannon student and president of the chapter. Cassandra Wasson was president of Theta Omega during the year that applies to the Bertholf Award.

“Being chosen for the Bertholf Award is truly an honor for everyone involved with the chapter,” said Scarsella, a junior biology major. “The award is a great recognition of all the hard work done by the student members, officers, advisors and faculty in the biology department.”

Founded in 1922, Beta Beta Beta is a society for students, particularly undergraduates, who are dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending the boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. The Bertholf Award is named for Lloyd M. Bertholf, the society’s third president.